Krishi Vigyan Kendra Azamgarh is located in the VIll Eastern plain zone with MSL 77.65m at 250-38’and 820-40’ E. This Kendra was established in Jan. 2005 under the administrative control of N.D.U.A. & T, Narendra Nagar (Kumarganj) Faizabad, U. P.

Azamgarh district has 8 Tehsil namely Sadar, Nizamabad, Mehnager, Lalganj, Phoolpur, Budhanpur, Sagari, Martinganj and 22 blocks viz., Atrauliya, Ahiraula, Koyalsa, Mahrajganj, Bilariyaganj, Harraiya, Azamatgarh, Sathiyaon, Palhani, Jahanaganj, Tahbarpur, Powai, phoolpur, Mirzapur, Thekma, Mohamadpur, Rani Ki Sarai, Lalganj, Mehnagar, Palhana, Martinganj & Tarwa. The total geographical area is 4229.5km2, out of this total cultivated area is 489614ha which is 83.6% of the total area. Annual average rainfall is 1031mm. Maximum temperature goes up to 43.50C in summer and minimum temp. 6.80C goes in winter. The soil is sandy loam new and deep.

Irrigation facilities of the district are very poor. Only 25.2% area is irrigated. The contribution of government resources is not significant. Farmers have their own pumping set as resource of irrigation. The productivity is poor. In order to increase skill level and productivity, local resource were utilized as per mandate of KVK.